Update from Uganda

It’s late Sunday night here. We’ve traveled all over Uganda and met some amazing people. Words and pictures won’t be able to really capture things, but I’ll do my best after I get home.

The places I’ve been able to leave soccer balls have been truly thankful. In Mityana, a small village deep into the bush, I met Ivan, a young man who has assembled the young kids into a team and is teaching them the game. He saw the ball before I’d pumped it up and said, “That is a football.” It was a great thing.

In one village even deeper into the bush, a man gave us a goat because he was so thankful for the tank his village received and because we’d traveled so far to visit them. This was really a big deal. While he owns land and has about 100 cattle and 50 goats, giving someone a goat is a great honor. We were humbled by that realization.

I’ve talked with beth and the kids twice since we’ve been in Uganda. I was really glad to talk with them for Valentine’s Day.

Tomorrow we’ll be spending the day in Kivulu slum, and we’ve been challenged to a football match. Looking forward to it. I have to sign off. James and I are hanging out with Jess who works in Kivulu, but I think it’s time for bed.

Thanks for your support and prayers. You are changing the world.

Leave a Reply

