Hidden treasures

I admit that I watch America’s Got Talent, though mostly for the train wrecks that litter the initial search rounds. Now last season did reveal some brilliant singers in Neal E. Boyd, Queen Emily and Eli Mattson. Of course, it also brought us some circus acts which had no business getting past the audition rounds.

The British version has found some real stunners though. In 2007, Paul Potts went from cell phone salesman to opera star. Now I don’t like opera, but the guy’s voice is just phenomenal. Watch his audition video.

This season, Susan Boyle, a 47-year-old church worker with a little sass, a lot of spunk and a ton guts, sings “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Miserables and brings the house to their feet and absolutely takes Simon Cowell’s voice away. Don’t believe me? Go watch the video.

I love Les Miserables. Beth and I saw it on Broadway before it closed. It is one of the most stunning stories of grace and redemption, and it brought me to tears. I admit this video nearly brought me to tears. Just stunning. No other words. That’s a voice for the ages and a story you just can’t script.

Leave a Reply

